Skip to main content
10 Feb 2023

Do you know who...? IMB-CNM staff shares the names of leading women scientists in the field of microelectronics

On February 11, the International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Institute of Microelectronics of Barcelona is launching an initiative to share the names of female leaders in microelectronics, whether in the form of scientists, technicians or large history researchers.

Dia de la Dona i la Nena a la Ciència template


February 11 is the International Day of Women and Girls in Science, a day declared by the United Nations General Assembly in 2015 to break down the barriers that women and girls encounter in the scientific field. This is an initiative to make visible the work of women who are dedicated to STEM areas (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics), to create female role models for children who can contribute to choosing these areas as professional careers.

The Institute of Microelectronics of Barcelona (IMB-CNM, CSIC) wanted to celebrate this day with an initiative open to all staff and promoted by the postdoctoral group. The proposal intends to look for references of women scientists, in the field of microelectronics, with the aim of making visible and valuable their role in science.

The collection of references has consisted of collecting information with the name, photo and brief description of relevant scientists, technicians and researchers in the world of microelectronics (Physics, Chemistry, Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Materials Science, Nanotechnology, Telecommunications and similar). Contributions will be posted through the IMB-CNM social networks throughout the month of February. The reception of proposals will be open until the end of February.

Michelle Yvonne Simmons

Michelle Yvonne Simmons (London, 1967) is an Anglo-Australian physicist. She is a professor of quantum physics at the University of New South Wales, where she leads the Quantum Computation and Communication Technology center. She is editor-in-chief of Nature Quantum Information and was awarded the L'Oréal-UNESCO Prize in 2017.

Hedy Lamarr

Eva Maria Kiesler, known as Hedy Lamarr (Vienna, November 9, 1914-Casselberry, Florida, January 19, 2000) was an Austrian film actress and inventor. She co-invented, with George Antheil, the first version of spread spectrum technology that would enable long-distance wireless communications.

Mildred Dresselhaus

Mildred Spiewak, known as Mildred Dresselhaus (Brooklyn, November 11, 1930-Cambridge, February 20, 2017), an American physicist and nanotechnologist, a pioneer in the study of nanomaterials, known as the "queen of carbon science", was the first female professor and emeritus professor of Physics and Electrical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Andrea Goldsmith

Andrea Goldsmith (1964, San Fernando Valley, California, USA) is an American electrical engineer and Dean of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Princeton University. She is also the Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical Engineering at Princeton.

Nuria Oliver Ramírez

Nuria Oliver Ramírez (Alicante, 1970) is a Spanish telecommunications engineer, with a PhD from the Media Lab of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She is the director of the ELLIS Alicante Foundation, Chief Scientific Advisor of the Vodafone Institute and Chief Data Scientist of the DataPop Alliance.